Minnesota Hockey Magazine

Senior CLASS Award names quartet of Minnesota candidates

UMD’s Krause, SCSU’s Prochno, UND’s Mattson, UMN’s Rau nominated

Four Minnesotans were among twenty NCAA men’s hockey players who were selected as candidates today for the 2014-15 Senior CLASS (Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School) Award. The in-state nominees are Minnesota Duluth’s Adam Krause (Hermantown), St. Cloud State’s Andrew Prochno (Minnetonka), North Dakota’s Nick Mattson (Chanhassen) and Minnesota’s Kyle Rau (Eden Prairie).

The award celebrates the loyalty of seniors who honor a four-year commitment to their university and recognizes them for their accomplishments in their sport and their community while remaining in school.

According to the release, the candidate class will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2015 NCAA Men’s Frozen Final Four® in April.