Connect with us


Minnesota Tops B1G Preseason Coaches’ Poll

Adam Wilcox among five Gophers named to Big Ten Players to Watch List.

Adam Wilcox among five Gophers named to Big Ten Players to Watch List

The University of Minnesota enters the 2014-15 season as the team to beat in the Big Ten hockey conference according to the annual Big Ten men’s hockey coaches’ poll released this morning at the 2015 Big Ten Hockey Media Day at Joe Louis Arena. The defending Big Ten regular-season champions and national runner-up at the Frozen Four are followed by Michigan, Wisconsin, Ohio State, Michigan State and Penn State in the poll.

The coaches also selected a 16-member Preseason Players to Watch list which the Gophers led with five selections (Kyle Rau, Adam Wilcox, Mike Reilly, Sam Warning and Brady Skjei) including three of the six unanimous picks (Rau, Wilcox, Reilly). The list includes two returning first-team All-Big Ten honorees (Minnesota’s Reilly and Wilcox), three second-team selections (Michigan’s Compher, Minnesota’s Rau and Wisconsin’s Rumpel), four honorable mention honorees (Michigan’s Copp, Michigan State’s Jake Hildebrand and Minnesota’s Sam Warning and Brady Skjei).


1. Minnesota
2. Michigan
3. Wisconsin
4. Ohio State
5. Michigan State
6. Penn State

JT Compher, F, Michigan*
Andrew Copp, F, Michigan*
Matt Berry, F, Michigan State
Jake Hildebrand, G, Michigan State
Kyle Rau, F, Minnesota*
Mike Reilly, D, Minnesota*
Brady Skjei, D, Minnesota
Sam Warning, F, Minnesota
Adam Wilcox, G, Minnesota*
Drew Brevig, D, Ohio State
Christian Frey, G, Ohio State
Tanner Fritz, F, Ohio State
Nick Schilkey, F, Ohio State
Luke Juha, D, Penn State
Joseph LaBate, F, Wisconsin
Joel Rumpel, G, Wisconsin*
* Unanimous selection
# Additional honorees due to ties

Click to comment

2024 State Tourney Guide Issue

Click on the cover to view!

2024 Hockey Day MN Recap Issue

Click on the cover to view!

Sign Up Here to Receive Our Free E-edition!


More in Blog