Connect with us


WCHA and Minnesota Hockey Announce Promotional Partnership

Cross-promotional efforts to highlight WCHA Final Five and FINAL FACE-OFF championships

Cross-promotional efforts to highlight WCHA Final Five and FINAL FACE-OFF championships

EDINA, Minn. – Jan. 13, 2015 – Bringing together two of the sport’s top brands in the State of Hockey, the men’s and women’s Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) today announced a promotional partnership with Minnesota Hockey for the remainder of the 2014-15 season.

Centered around the WCHA’s jewel events, this unique partnership will elevate and promote the women’s FINAL FACE-OFF (held March 7 and 8 at Ralph Engelstad Arena in Grand Forks, N.D.) and the men’s Final Five (held March 20 and 21 at Xcel Energy Center in Saint Paul, Minn.). Minnesota Hockey, the state’s leading Digital Hockey Publication, will highlight the on- and off-ice accomplishments of the WCHA’s member teams, student-athletes and coaches, while also providing ticket specials to the league’s championship weekends.

“With the Final Five returning to Saint Paul, it is a perfect time to collaborate with Minnesota Hockey,” said WCHA Men’s Commissioner Bill Robertson. “We know that Minnesota Hockey Magazine has long been a go-to resource for news and information, and we look forward to seeing the many great stories of the WCHA and our championship tournament come to life.”

Added WCHA Women’s Commissioner Aaron Kemp: “While five of our member institutions are based in the state, the digital platform of Minnesota Hockey allows us another important vehicle to reach WCHA fans everywhere. As we gear up for the premier league championship in women’s college hockey, we are excited for what this partnership will bring the FINAL FACE-OFF.”

Minnesota Hockey, the new online version of its famed predecessor of the same name, features articles, photos and videos from every level of Minnesota hockey – from the NHL to mites.

“We are thrilled to partner with the iconic WCHA at an exciting time for both organizations,” said Scott Tiffany, President and Founder of Minnesota Hockey “The WCHA and Minnesota Hockey Magazine are both known throughout the state for our proud past, while we also share a promising future marked by the same level of excellence.”

For the publication’s coverage of professional, college, prep and youth hockey, visit

About Minnesota Hockey

Minnesota Hockey is a professionally designed digital hockey publication that operates as a one-of-a-kind, comprehensive portal. Launched as a full-color print magazine in 1988, Minnesota Hockey Magazine has a decorated history. Within a few short years it grew in circulation and editorial stature to where it was considered one of the premier hockey publications in North America. Now operating exclusively on an exciting online platform, Minnesota Hockey’s mission is to be the ultimate independent source of Minnesota hockey information and entertainment for those passionate about hockey, both locally and around the globe. Learn more at Minnesota Hockey

About Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA)

The Western Collegiate Hockey Association, among the most historic, tradition-rich and successful conferences in all of collegiate athletics, proudly marks its 63rd season of men’s competition in 2014-15. Covering five time zones and more than 4,200 miles, the 10-team Division 1 conference consists of the University of Alabama in Huntsville (Chargers), the University of Alaska Anchorage (Seawolves), the University of Alaska (Nanooks), Bemidji State University (Beavers), Bowling Green State University (Falcons), Ferris State University (Bulldogs), Lake Superior State University (Lakers), Michigan Technological University (Huskies), Minnesota State University (Mavericks) and Northern Michigan University (Wildcats). The women’s Western Collegiate Hockey Association has won a record 14 national championships in 15 years since its inception in 1999, while producing six Patty Kazmaier Award winners, 70 All-Americans and numerous Olympic and international team members. The eight-team Division 1 conference consists of: Bemidji State University (Beavers), the University of Minnesota (Golden Gophers), the University of Minnesota Duluth (Bulldogs), Minnesota State University (Mavericks), the University of North Dakota, Ohio State University (Buckeyes), St. Cloud State University (Huskies) and the University of Wisconsin (Badgers).

Click to comment

2024 State Tourney Guide Issue

Click on the cover to view!

2024 Hockey Day MN Recap Issue

Click on the cover to view!

Sign Up Here to Receive Our Free E-edition!


More in College